Central University Entrance Test (CUET)

CUET - Entrance Test Prep

The Ministry of Education (MoE), Government of India (GoI) has established the National Testing Agency (NTA) as an independent, autonomous, and self-sustained premier testing organization under the Societies Registration Act (1860) for conducting efficient, transparent, and international standardized tests in order to assess the competency of candidates for admission to premier higher education institutions with a mission to improve equity and quality in education by developing and administering research-based valid, reliable, efficient, transparent, fair and international level assessments. NTA has created a system that is promoting teaching (by teachers), learning (by students), and assessment (by parents and institutions). NTA strongly believes in the quality, efficiency, effectiveness, equity, and security of assessments. To practice these values, NTA is constantly engaging with its stakeholders, viz. students, parents, teachers, experts, and partner institutions.

The objectives of NTA, inter alia, include:

1. To conduct efficient, transparent, and international standardized tests in order to assess the competency of candidates for admission.

2. To undertake research on educational, professional, and testing systems to identify gaps in the knowledge systems and take steps for bridging them.

3. To produce and disseminate information and research on education and professional development standards. National Testing Agency has been entrusted with the responsibility of conducting the Common University Entrance Test (UG) for admission into the Undergraduate programmes/ courses for all the Central Universities (CUs) for the academic session 2022-2023.

About Common University Entrance Test (CUET (UG) - 2022 ) The Common University Entrance Test (CUET) is being introduced for admission into all UG Programmes in all Central Universities for academic session 2022-23 under the Ministry of Education, (MoE). The Common University Entrance Test (CUET) will provide a common platform and equal opportunities to candidates across the country, especially those from rural and other remote areas and help establish better connect with the Universities. A single Examination will enable the Candidates to cover a wide outreach and be part of the admissions process to various Central Universities.



a) Assam University, Silchar

b) Central University of Andhra Pradesh

c) Central University of Gujarat

d) Central University of Haryana

e) Central University of Jammu

f) Central University of Jharkhand

g) Central University of Karnataka

h) Central University of Kerala

i) Central University of Punjab

j) Central University of Rajasthan

k) Central University of South Bihar

l) Central University of Tamil Nadu

m) Delhi University, Delhi


Before applying for CUET, candidates are advised to check the eligibility criteria required by a particular participating University for a desired Programme. The details of Programmes, Eligibility Criteria, Programme Structure etc. are available on the respective website of participating Universities.

Admissions are handled at the level of each of the participating Central Universities (CUs) for their respective programs. After the declaration of the CUET result by NTA, the respective CUs will declare the counselling/ admission schedule and merit list based on the weightage on the CUET score and the other criteria of the respective CU. There will be online/offline admission counselling for participating CUs.


There are three Sections in the design of the test:

 Section IA - 13 Languages (As a medium and “Language”)

 Section IB - 20 Languages

 Section II - 27 Domain Specific Subjects

 Section III - General Test

Sections  Subjects             Question to be attempted Question type Duration
Sec 1-a  There are 13 different languages. Any of these languages may be chosen. 40 questions out of 50 in each language Language to be tested through Reading Comprehension (based on different types of passages–Factual, Literary and Narrative, [Literary Aptitude and Vocabulary] 45 Minutes for each  language
Sec 1-b There are 20 Languages. Any other language apart from those offered in Section I A may be chosen.      
Sec 2  There are 27 Domains specific Subjects being offered under this Section. A candidate may choose a maximum of Six (06) Domains as desired by the applicable University/ Universities.  40 questions out of 50 in each subject

• Input text can be used for MCQ Based Questions

• MCQs based on syllabus given on NTA website

45 Minutes for each Domain Specific Subjects
Sec 3  For any such undergraduate programme/ programmes being offered by Universities where a General Test is being used for admission. 60 questions out of 75

• Input text can be used for MCQ Based Questions • General Knowledge, Current Affairs, General Mental Ability, Numerical Ability, Quantitative Reasoning (Simple application of basic mathematical concepts arithmetic/algebra geometry/mensuration /stat taught till Grade 8), Logical and Analytical Reasoning


60 Minutes.

Following Steps may be followed to Apply Online:

Step-1: Register for Online Registration using your own Email ID and Mobile No. and note down system generated Application Number.

Step-2: Complete the Online Application Form and note down the system generated Application Number.

Step-3: Upload legible scanned images of: (i) a recent photograph (in jpg/ jpeg file, size 10Kb – 200Kb) either in colour or black & white with 80% face (without mask) visible including ears against white background; (ii) candidate’s signature (file size: 4kb - 30kb)

Step-4: Pay prescribed fee through Net Banking / Debit Card / Credit Card / UPI and keep proof of fee paid for future reference.